World Drum Corps Hall of Fame will present scholarships worth $1,000

Posted on August 7th, 2019

The World Drum Corps Hall of Fame (WDCHOF) will award scholarships worth $1,000 in total in Williamsport, Pennsylvania on Friday, August 30. Alexander C. Hlywa of Southbury, Connecticut and Anthony T. Dioguardi of Marlton, New Jersey will each receive a $500 award during the Hall of Fame’s annual banquet and induction ceremony.

WDCHOF President Richard Templin together with the Scholarship Committee announced the awardees for the 2019 Scholarship. The WDCHOF Scholarship program is funded solely by associate member dues and charitable donations and has been rekindled after a number of years thanks to the efforts of the Scholarship Committee under President Templin. The awards are available to relatives of Hall of Fame members.

Alex Hlywa, grandson of WDCHOF member Art Hlywa attended Pomperaug High School where he played trumpet for the marching, concert and jazz bands and was a member of the TRI-M Music honor society. In high school and college Alex was involved with track and field and has played taps for Veterans’ Day services in addition to being involved in many community services as a volunteer.

Currently, he is a student at St. Regis College in Weston, Maine where he is a Dean’s List student, majoring in Biology with medical school as a goal.

Anthony Dioguardi is the grandson of WDCHOF associate member Frank Dioguardi.

Anthony was involved in numerous community services as a volunteer and was involved in four sports in high school. In addition to sports, Anthony is involved with playing and writing music of all genres.

He graduated from Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, Daytona Beach, Florida with a Bachelor of Science degree in Mechanical Engineering. He was inducted into the National Society of Collegiate Scholars and is a brother of Phi Gamma Delta fraternity (also known as FIJI).

The Williamsport banquet and ceremony will include the induction of new regular and associate members, and inductees in the international and distinguished professional achievement categories.

Comments are closed.